Non Hybridized Wheat and Spelt

Okay, the subject on “non hybridized wheat and spelt” comes up time and time again so I thought I would set the record straight for all of you.  I had a good laugh last week.  At first it was not funny..I was actually concerned. So here is the story and I am going to use this as a learning experience for you all.

A customer came in saying she had to eat gluten-free (GF). She went on to say that she eats healthy GF breads made with Spelt; also known as Farro or Dinkel.  She wanted to make sure my breads contained this “healthy” Spelt in them.  I think she wanted to educated me about healthy GF eating. I explained to her that we are a GF Facility and that Spelt is NOT Gluten-Free and not allowed in my facility!  She  was stunned.  We were very busy and I was going to try to talk with her further but she just walked out. Maybe she was embarrassed because her husband looked stunned when I said Spelt was not GF.

A person with Celiac Disease (CD) or Gluten Sensitivity (GS) or Wheat Allergy cannot eat Spelt and cannot eat Non Hybridized Wheat when they are traveling in Europe!  I hear so much garbage about this from customers and people on the internet.

Spelt/Farro/Dinkel is gluten. Non Hybridized ancient grains are just as toxic to a Celiac as the modern grains! PERIOD.

There are nuns in Europe producing “GF” Communion Wafers with non-hybridized wheat that they are saying is Celiac Safe.  Wrong. It is testing at 80 ppm….it is not safe folks! There is a safe GF Host out there gang. If your church won’t get it, you can choose to abstain! (I have done several posts on this)

No, I don’t take communion at church and I think GOD is okay with that decision. I could take communion and be sick for ten days and not be able to supply safe meals to those with CD and Food Allergies.  OR    I can skip communion and continue helping others suffering from CD and FA)  Mmmmm, this decision is “no brainer” for me and I don’t think there is a GOD who would hold this against me.

Eating Ancient Grains in Europe: I have heard gluten sensitive people say they went to Europe and ate “ancient non-hybridized wheat” and drank beer and they were fine. Really?  A Celiac would not do this.  So, to the GS folks who do this; maybe you just felt great because the food is so much fresher and not filled with junk and preservatives like it is here so it can sit on a shelf or a sidewalk and remain unchanged for a year!

food-festivals

Modern Wheat Breeding Does Not Contribute to Gluten Toxicity! (ie, the breeding of modern wheat is not what is causing CD or GS or allergies)

-Stay safe and don’t believe everything you read on the internet.

-Don’t believe that GF Cheerios are really GF.

-If you have CD, GS, Wheat, Rye or Barley Allergies, you should not eat Spelt,  Ancient Grains, or “GF Cheerios”. Period! (lots of posts about Cheerios on my blog)

http://naturalsciencenews.com/2016/12/13/modern-wheat-breeding-practices-do-not-contribute-to-gluten-toxicity/

Advertisements

The Great Oat Debate!

From my December 2014 Newsletter;

For many years there has been controversy over Oats and a gluten-free diet. Many customers ask me why I don’t allow oats in my facility. The first reason is that all oats are not created equally. Oats are often contaminated with gluten during processing, therefore; if you want to eat oats, they have to be certified GF Oats.  The second reason is because many Celiacs react to oats, even certified GF Oats and I am one of them.

The best explanation I have seen about this controversy was from Children’s National Medical Center’s Celiac Newsletter and answered by Dr. John Snyder, Chief, Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition at Children’s National Medical Center in Washington, DC.

Question: My child has been recently diagnosed with celiac disease. I don’t understand why she cannot continue to eat her favorite oatmeal cereal for breakfast. Isn’t it okay to make it with certified gluten-free oats?

Answer: Oats comprise a different tribe of the grass family (aveneae) than wheat, rye, and barley (hordeae), so they do not contain gluten; however, there a couple of reasons that we recommend that people with celiac disease stop eating oats when they start a gluten-free diet. The first is that it is difficult to get truly gluten-free oats, since they are often transported or stored in containers that also transport wheat and other grains. In addition, there is a protein in oats called avenin, which is somewhat similar to the gluten found in barley, wheat, and rye. There are a small percentage of people with celiac disease that also are sensitive to oats. For these reasons, the current recommendation for all people newly diagnosed with celiac disease is to stop eating oats until it can be clearly demonstrated that their celiac disease is under control. After that, working closely with a physician, registered dietitian, or another qualified healthcare professional well-versed in celiac disease, certified gluten-free oats can gradually be added to the diet, as long as the person remains symptom-free.

–John Snyder, MD, Chief, Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition; Children’s National Medical Center, Washington, DC.