Road Trip USA and Surgery Day Is Set

First; the surgery and then “Road Trip USA”; where you have a chance to share your stories about “road tripping” to ODC and can also win a $25.00 gift certificate!

As many of you know, I have a major Achilles Tendon issue that really took me out back in May.  I spent 7 weeks in a walking boot and many days off resting and icing it to try to get back up to speed. In addition to that, my orthopedic surgeon put me on a mega vitamin B1, B6 and Vitamin C course to help speed healing. We tried the conservative approach and I spent 6 weeks trying to walk on it in a normal fashion. It just made things worse.

I really need to get to a place where I have more good days than bad days. At this point I really don’t have a choice and I will be having surgery.  I am set for Achilles Tendon Repair, removal of Haglund’s Deformity (bone) and bone spur removal.  They need to detach my Achilles tendon in order to remove the bone. If the tendon is in good shape, they will re-anchor it to my heal using my own bone marrow from my hip. Bone marrow aides in the healing process via of all of those great stem cells.  If the tendon is not in good enough shape, they will transfer a tendon from my foot to the Achilles.

The recovery is long… 9 months to one year.  I will be in bed for at least two weeks.  They will then remove sutures and if I am infection free..they will put me in a hard cast. I will not be able to put any weight on the leg for about 8 weeks or so.  Then, I will graduate to a walking boot..and hopefully, by 6 months, I will have shoes on and be on my way to full recovery.

I am so confident in our wonderful staff and know that they will take great care of you; as usual! Dave, Susan, Holly, Jessica, Stephanie and Tevon will still be at the helm starting on August 22.  I only ask three things of our customers.  First, please remember that we still need you to come in and support us; even when I am out. Second, I ask for your prayers for a safe, successful surgery and speedy recovery.  Lastly, I hope you will consider sharing your road trip stories about your ventures from afar to One Dish Cuisine Cafe, Deli and Bakery; this will make our upcoming newsletters easier for me to do and fun for everyone to be able to share their stories.

Road Trip USA; Share Your Stories: I am going to need some help doing newsletters while I am recovering from my surgery and that is where all of you come in! Many of you drive quite a distance to have a safe place for you or your children to eat. We all learn so much from each other and I thought this would be a great time to have a little fun and let all of you share your stories about your road trips to One Dish Cuisine and what else you do when you come into town. Please share your stories with me and get creative..you can include photos..make it fun.  If I use your story in any of our upcoming newsletters you will win a $25.00 gift certificate to ODC. Email your story to me at onedishcuisine@yahoo.com.

 

Thank you for your support and prayers; I will miss all of your smiling faces but have lots of busy work to keep me busy at home. I hope to be back in the cafe in Mid September; zipping around on my knee scooter!

 

One thought on “Road Trip USA and Surgery Day Is Set

  1. Best wishes for a successful surgery and uneventful recovery, Maureen! You WILL be in my prayers, and I promise to share a “road trip” story soon! xoxo, Karen

    Like

Leave a Reply

