Kessler Apologizes for “Venting” About GF Cheerios

The day after; I posted her comments on my blog, I got the following email from Phyllis Kessler, President of the South Florida Celiac Support Group. You won’t believe why she is so upset about me and Gluten Dude stating that GF Cheerios are not safe. The conflict of interest is glaring!
“Maureen …..it was not an attack and I’m sorry if you took it that way. My apologies. I guess I just needed to vent about all of the e-mails that I’m getting bashing General Mills. A dear friend of mine worked on this project and is being thrown under the bus …..as I told you, I am Gluten Free because I have Celiac Disease and have had zero reaction to eating Cheerios. In the past I could NEVER eat oats…even the ones that were certified GF …I decided to give it another shot and try Cheerios and had no reaction…no clue why. So, again, I apologize if you felt like I was attacking you….Phyllis”
I emailed her back and thanked her for her apology; urging her to read the Gluten Free Watchdog Report about the cleaning process and testing processes that General Mills is using. It is clear that she is more concerned about her “dear friend” than she is her fellow Celiacs.
*for previous posts, you can scroll down to see last weeks email I got. Or see my blog posts under Celiac Disease and GF Cheerios.
GF Cheerios
Leave a Reply

